Pakistani Cricket - PSL

PSL (Pakistan Super League): A Revolution of Pakistani Cricket !


Pakistan Super League (PSL) 4th season of Pakistani Cricket kicks off with a great start on 14th February, 2019.

The months of February and March bring a great deal of excitement in Pakistanis as well as foreigners as this is the season of Twenty20 cricket. Screens are set up to watch Pakistani cricket in different malls, markets and people go to watch the matches at different cafes and restaurants.

t20 world cup and PSL

PSL is a cricket tournament series started in Pakistan from the year 2016. These are Twenty20 tournaments played in the format of double round robins and play offs. The top four teams with the best record qualify for the playoffs and culminates in the championship game, the PSL cup final. The matches are played in Qadaffi stadium, Lahore or National Stadium, Karachi. However some matches have once been played in UAE.


It was originally announced in 2015 by the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB). It officially began in 2016 in UAE where it was inaugurated by Baktawar Bhutto Zardari alongside Sheikh Nahyan bin Mubarik al Nahyan. The ceremony was attended by current and Pakistani cricketers as well as different celebrities.

Pakistan Cricket Board

Initially, PSL began with 5 teams which later changed its number to 6. The teams are based on different cities of Pakistan compromising of Pakistani as well as foreign cricketers. Each team is owned by a single or a group of investors worth millions of dollars. The franchise of team is presented to the investor who wins the bid done by several proposals.

The teams are:
1. Islamabad United (owned by Leonine Global Sports)
2. Karachi Kings (owned by CEO of ARY Group)
3. Lahore Qalandars (owned by MD of Qatar Lubricants company)
4. Multan Sultans (owned by Multan Consortium)
5. Peshawar Zalmi (owned by CEO of Haier Pakistan)
6. Quetta Gladiators (owned by Director of Omar Associates)

The winner of 2016 cup were Islamabad United followed by Peshawar Zalmi in 2017 and again by Islamabad United in 2018. The runner ups being Quetta Gladiators and Peshawar Zalmi.

The teams compromise of players from all over the world like UK, South Africa, Zimbabwe, New Zealand, West Indies, Afghanistan, Nepal and Australia.

The current champions are Islamabad United won title for the 2nd time. Most runs are achieved by Kamran Akmal (929 runs). Most wickets by Wahab Riaz (48).

Islamabad United - PSL

Let’s see what titles this year holds. May the best team win! Stay tuned!

The official website for PSL is